My Readerly Identity

        In my room, I currently have a selection of different types of texts ranging from fiction to mystery novels including The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Hunger Games and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I admit I do have self-help books such as Chicken Soup for the Soul and a variety of children’s books including Pinkalicious, which is a a fiction text. I also own It’s Okay to be Different by Todd Parr as well as My Brave Year of Firsts, Tries, Sighs, and High Fives by Jamie Lee Curtis & Laura Cornell. This book is based on nonfiction since it shows first graders what it’s like to be in a first grade classroom. In addition, I own several journalism texts as I am a former journalist who has changed careers.

        Some of the genre inquiries that I do not own in my collection are fables, speech, biographies/autobiographies as well as not that many nonfiction stories.Unfortunately, I do not get to read that much since I have hectic schedule and since I’ve enrolled in graduate school, I’ve read many texts that are part of the educational field. Now that I’m coming to the end of the graduate program, I do have some flexibility and will add more books to my collection. Based on some of the texts that I have in my collection such as journalism books, they helped me improve as a writer and when I am teaching the children how to polish their writing skills, I am able to use all the knowledge that I’ve acquired as a writer to help them achieve their goals. The educational texts that I have in my collection have helped me create effective lesson plans that will capture the children’s interest as well as have helped me prepare to enter the educational field.

       The fiction books that I have in my collection have been more like a breath of fresh air for me in a sense, they are novels based on people’s lives and how they intertwined with each other, and how these three people helped each other out during life struggles. I was able to relate to them when I had to go through life struggles. I find these books truly inspirational and hope to obtain new books based on this genre in the near future so I can read them when I have more time.

      Please stay posted as I will continue to update my book collection of different genres in the near future!

About krazzykatty85

For several years, I used to work as a journalist for a prestigious newspaper. A couple of years later, I changed careers and am going to be a teacher. These days you can find me purchasing materials for my future students that I hope to use in my classroom as well as creating engaging lesson plans while trying to have a life. When life gives you lemons, always make lemonade!

Leave a Reply

